Hero Classes
Death Knight
Find a Trainer
Weapons & Armour

World of Warcraft

Updated January 4th, 2011

World of Warcraft logoWorld of Warcraft®, by Blizzard Entertainment, is an online roleplaying game based upon the universe established in the famous Warcraft strategy games. Although WoW hasn't been around as long as EverQuest or LineAge, its simpler gameplay and humorous approach, based upon the popular Warcraft strategy games, has quickly made it the world's biggest MMORPG.

As of patch 4.03 (nov-dec 2010), the world of Azeroth has changed forever - for everyone, even those that don't have the expansion. The re-emergence of Deathwing has brought about death and destruction wherever you look. But the patch hasn't merely changed the look of the landscape. It also features an upgraded graphics engine, as well as major changes to the gameplay and class designs. Questing have been hugely improved, with more streamlined zones, better rewards, and thousands of new quests, making leveling, especially from 40 to 60, no longer being so horrible. The expansion also raises the level cap to 85, and add several new zones and dungeons aimed for levels 80-85, as well as 2 new races, a new profession (Archeology), and new race/class combinations. Also new is guild leveling with guild perks (such as increased mount speed, increased xp from quests and kills, less durability loss on death, and so on), and you can now fly in the old world for a small fee.

Cataclysm requires you to already have the Burning Crusade and Wrath of the Lich King expansions, and as such leveling from 60 to 80 is virtually impossible without going to the places included in those expansions. The XP gain in those zones have however been adjusted, to allow you to level through them faster, and get to the new content. Because nothing has been changed in the zones that are included with the Burning Crusade expansion, you still cannot fly in the Blood Elf and Draenei starting areas, as well as the island of Quel'Danas. This means that even though you can fly in the Eastern Plaguelands, you cannot fly into the Ghostlands, but will have to switch to a ground mount and ride through the portal. This will most likely be changed sometime in the future, but for now the flight ban is still there.

For various reasons, I was away from WoW for the majority of 2009, as well as unable to do much about this site for the past 2 years. With all the changes that's happened to the game in that time, it's going to take some time to get the site back up to speed. It's going to be a gradual process, and I'm hoping some of the things I was working on oh so long ago will find their way online in the process.